The CIM Announces 2024 CIM Award Recipients


Subscribe to receive industry-focused thought leadership and insights, delivered right to your inbox Subscribe

The Canadian Institute of Mining, Metallurgy, and Petroleum (CIM) has proudly revealed the winners of the 2024 CIM Awards Gala, spotlighting the accomplishments of more than 56 individuals and organizations within the minerals and metals sector.

The awards include the Canadian Young Mining Leaders Awards – Sponsored by The Bedford Consulting Group. Over the past 14 years, Bedford has been a dedicated partner of the Canadian Institute of Mining through the sponsorship of the CIM Canadian Young Mining Leaders Awards. This initiative aims to promote next generation leadership development within the Canadian mining sector by acknowledging the remarkable achievements and potential of young leaders.

Recognizing professionals under the age of 40, the awards celebrate excellence and future leadership prospects across various mining sectors including corporate performance, operations, finance, engineering, technical services and innovation, marketing and trading, as well as support functions. Eligible nominees must be Canadian citizens (or landed immigrants) under 40 employed by any mining company, engineering/consulting firm, contractor, or supplier globally (must be actively engaged in the mining industry).

A notable addition to this year’s awards is the Indigenous Partnership Award, which celebrates the collaborative efforts between communities and industries to advance Indigenous reconciliation in mining. This accolade honors sustainable partnerships that foster meaningful engagement with Indigenous communities.

CIM’s longstanding commitment to recognizing outstanding contributions across various domains within the minerals and metals industry underscores Canada’s influential role on the global stage of minerals, metals, and energy.

The CIM Awards Gala, sponsored by Caterpillar and its Canadian dealers, will take place on Monday, 13 May 2024, during the CIM CONNECT Convention + Expo at the Vancouver Convention Centre. Attendees will have the opportunity to applaud the brightest stars of Canada’s mineral industry while indulging in gourmet cuisine, networking, and entertainment.

We would like to highlight these award recipients:

Canadian Young Mining Leaders Award – Sponsored by The Bedford Group:

  • Josephine Morgenroth (Director of Innovation & Applied Research at RockMass Technologies)
  • Jean-Simon Beaudry (Finance Superintendent, Raglan Mine at Glencore)
  • Keira Sawatzky (Lead Technical Manager at Peter Lucas Project Management)
  • Alexandra Foty (Founder at Scope Zero Solutions Ltd)

CIM Indigenous Partnership Award: Cowessess First Nation, Morris Interactive.

To see a full list of award winners please visit the CIM website.

The Bedford Consulting Group and CIM extend their heartfelt congratulations to all of this year’s CIM award recipients.

To learn more information about Bedford Group, our partnership with CIM or our services, please contact Mauricio Montano:

Client Partner, Latin American Mining
CAD: 416-963-9000 ext 261